Snow?

Well, Accuweather is predicting 3″-6″ of snow just north of Lexington…which is us.  I’ll believe it when I see it.

The little snow that we have gotten over the last few days, coupled with the frigid temperatures, has provided Ash and Emma with some snow days.  Emma was less than thrilled.

Last week she woke up to see the snow and was very excited…until Ash explained that she got to stay home and spend the whole day with Mommy.  She came down the stairs with her head hanging low and her lip sticking out.  “Daddy, school is closed,” she said.

“I know, honey,” I said.  “But you get to spend the whole day with Mommy, and school will be open again next week.”

“I’m going to go sit down,” she pouted.

“Okay,” I said and watched her walk toward the living room.  I went into the kitchen, and when I looked back into the living room, I didn’t see her.  “Emma?”

“Yes?”

“Where are you?” I asked.

“I’m in the bathroom,” she answered.  So I went into the bathroom, and there she was.  In the dark.  On a step stool. Sitting.  “I’m sitting here because I’m upset my school is closed.”  Yes, that’s my little drama queen.

I’m going to remind her of this when she is praying for a snow day when she’s a teenager.

Posted on February 5, 2007, in Emma. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. We didn’t even get an inch, by the way…

  2. Ah…perhaps when she is a little older you can mention that teachers pray for snow days too…but not just yet. We have had 4 this year, as well as a few 2 hour delays (fog/ice/etc.). I’m sure we will be adding minutes to make up for lost time very soon…and spring is yet three full weeks away!

Leave a Reply

