Showtime!

Well, tonight is the night I take Emma to High School Musical.  I’m not sure how it’s going to go…she’ll be seeing her mom on stage for the first time.  Neither Ash nor I has walked the boards since 2 years before she was born.  I’ve been preparing her all week, telling her that “Mommy is in the show” and “we can’t talk to Mommy when she’s on the stage.”  Just when I think she understands, she says “Why?”

She’s so excited.  Last night when I put her to bed, we were talking about going to the show tonight, and she said, “Daddy, you need to wear a blue shirt with no buttons.”  For some reason, she doesn’t like button-up shirts.

“I’ll see what I can find,” I said.

This morning when I was getting ready, I tore the closet apart looking for a blue shirt without buttons that was appropriate for work and the show.  I mean, you want your date to approve of your outfit, right?  I finally started looking for either a blue shirt OR a shirt without buttons (laundry hasn’t been a top priority this week).  I had to settle on a black shirt that had buttons.  I went out into the living room, dressed for the day, and showed her my shirt.  “This is all I could find, sweetie,” I said.  “I guess I’ll have to have a black shirt with buttons.”

Dripping with sweetness, she said, “It’s okay, Daddy.  I can sit with Mommy.”

I decided not to bother explaining it to her again.

Posted on May 4, 2007, in Emma, Performing Arts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. How was the show? Did your date stay awake? When mom is in the show do you still get to get ice cream afterwards? Sounds like fun!

  2. The show was great, and Emma LOVED it! There was a couple who was supposed to sit next to us who didn’t show up, so she used the space in front of her seat and theirs to dance and SING along with the show. I had to tell her to quiet down a few times, but for the most part she wasn’t disruptive. And the parents sitting around us were enjoying her almost as much as the show.

    The only thing was when Ash walked out on stage, she said, “MOMMY!” I think that’s when she finally got what was happening. Until that moment, she didn’t really understand what we meant when we said Mommy was going to be IN the show. 🙂

Leave a Reply

