Chinese Freeze Tag

My friend Carrie over at Barely Controlled Chaos, tagged me in a game of Chinese Freeze Tag.  Here’s how it works:

– I’ll write 10 interesting (maybe) facts about me.
– I’ll “tag” some others (it’s supposed to be 10 people, but I don’t know 10 bloggers, and I don’t think I have but 3 readers who would see they’re tagged anyway…and 2 of those 3 have already been tagged in this game!).
– If you’ve been tagged, you do your own list and tag some more bloggers.

 So, here’s my list:

  1. For the first 21 years of my life, I lived in 3 different Michigan cities, with a return to Central Michigan University (Mt. Pleasant) in 1991 to carry on the family tradition.  The cities…in order of appearance…are:  Mt. Pleasant, Stockbridge, Leslie, and Mt. Pleasant (again).
  2. Since then I have lived in Goldsboro NC, Belleville MI, Lexington KY, and Georgetown KY.
  3. My favorite place of residency is (by far) Georgetown.  I absolutely love living in our neighborhood.  I have, however, missed living close to home over the last 10+ years.
  4. My least favorite place of residency is Goldsboro.  Although I met some wonderful people there, I will always remember the racism of the South.  Some people consider Kentucky to be the South, but it’s nothing like the Carolinas.  Having lived a relatively sheltered life in the extreme North, I was not prepared for the extreme bigotry that unfortunately still exists in this country.
  5. My proudest moment was starring as “Sparky” in Studio Players’ 1997 and 1998 productions of Forever Plaid.  Neither before nor since have I had a role that I identified so closely with, that gave me that much pride, or that gave me such public recognition.  During the two runs, we played to sold-out houses for 32 performances, and I was recognized in and around Lexington for several years afterward.
  6. My happiest moments were the births of my two beautiful children (2003 & 2006).  We dreamed of having children for what seemed like an eternity.  Now that we finally have them both, I can’t imagine life without them.
  7. My saddest moment was the death of my grandfather in 2001.  “Papa” was one of the most amazing people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing.  I feel very blessed to have such a great relationship with my grandparents.  I think of him and miss him every day.
  8. When I was born, I was lucky enough to have (I hope I get the numbers right) 4 grandparents, 7 great grandparents, and 1 great-great grandparent.  Not only did I have them, but (aside from my great-great grandmother, who I know I met, but unfortunately don’t remember) I also have vivid memories of times spent with each of my great grandparents.  I was very young when my great-great grandmother passed away; she was 104.  At almost 35, I have 3 grandparents and 1 great grandparent.
  9. I’m ashamed to admit that (except for the car I bought in high school for $1,000) I have never owned a car long enough to pay it off.  I have a twisted obsession with cars, and I get bored easily.  Since the age of 17 I have “owned” 10 different vehicles of varying classes/styles.  Of course, for the last 9 years I’ve had a second driver in the household, so some were owned concurrently.  My favorite was a 2000 Dodge Durango.  Right now I drive a 2004 Toyota Camry…and boy am I tired of it!
  10. I am a Christian Democrat.  Yes, Mr. Bush, we do exist.

And I’ll tag the following people:

  • Jan at GGJan
  • Kim at The Utterbeck Family
  • Lisa at The Inner Sanctum
  • My sister-in-law Paulie (c’mon Paulie…create a blog for Mason and use this as your first post.  It’ll help you get started!)
  • And YOU!  If you haven’t already participated…or you don’t even have a blog yet…use this as your first post.  The first post is always the hardest…
Posted on May 15, 2007, in Interesting Facts. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. wahoo! nice list, matt!

    -we just got rid of our 2000 Dodge Durango before I bought my Volvo. I LOVED that truck!! (it was however paid-off, and as much as I love my Volvo, I do miss the no car payment days!)

    -amen to #10. Obama for president in ’08 🙂

Leave a Reply

