Honey, honey, honey…

Tonight we put both kids to bed and took Lexie outside to give her a bath.  When we came back in, we heard Emma talking through her monitor, with no sign of going to sleep.  Ash headed up the stairs to give her a gentle nudge in the right direction.  The following is the conversation that transpired:

A:  Emma, you need to quit talking and reading books.  It’s way past time to go to sleep.

E:  Honey, honey, honey…You have to listen to me.

A:  Yes, dear?

E:  I can sleep and read books at the same time.

A:  Honey, no you can’t.

E:  Honey, but Daddy said that I can read books and sleep at the same time.

(Which I didn’t say, by the way.)

A:  I don’t think so, because you have to have your eyes open to read books and your eyes closed to go to sleep.

E:  <Big sigh> I don’t think you’re listening.

A:  Yes, I am listening.  I’m just telling you “no.”  Now it’s time to go to sleep.

E:  I guess Daddy was wrong.

Posted on June 11, 2007, in Emma. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hah! That made me laugh.

    BTW, love your new header.

  2. I love it……boy have you got your work cut out for you….GG

  3. Precious! Poor Dad – getting the short end of the stick. I hope that won’t be too much of a recurring thing.

    It’s been a while. stop by when you have time.

  4. Precious! Poor Dad – getting the short end of the stick. I hope that won’t be too much of a recurring thing.

    It’s been a while. stop by when you have time.
    BTW, Ethans eyes are hypnotic…Great Shot.

Leave a Reply

