We’re HOME!

After a wonderful, though short, visit with Ashley’s Uncle George and Aunt Linda in Greenville, SC, and the worst hotel stay we’ve ever experienced in Pigeon Forge, TN, we arrived home at 11:30 this morning.

It was great to see Uncle George and Aunt Linda.  We enjoyed a great lunch and some wonderful southern hospitality at their beautiful home in Greenville.  The kids particularly liked the screened porch and walking on the sidewalk in the front yard.  They were enjoying some unseasonably mild South Carolina weather while we were there, so it was a perfect opportunity for the kids to stretch their legs.

I think we would have been better off listening to Ethan scream all the way home than staying in Tennessee.  I do not recommend the Holiday Inn Express at I-40, Exit 407.  Usually they are nice hotels, but it was terrible…and expensive!  Ethan evidently didn’t like it either because he didn’t sleep and tried to keep most of the hotel from sleeping.  He screamed loud enough that I finally took him out to the van after midnight.  I drove up to the gas station and filled the tank.  Then we sat in the van and watched Peter Pan until he calmed down.

This morning’s 3-hour drive home was uneventful, and it’s good to be home.  I think we’re all looking forward to sleeping in our own beds tonight!

Posted on July 22, 2007, in Ethan, Family Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I can hardly believe I got this far … I hope this goes through! I’m definitely not technology-gifted. I’m glad you’re home safe and sound. I tried to call your cell a couple of times tonight … no luck. Thanks for the heads-up … we’ll definitely avoid whatever the hotel/motel(?) was in (???) TN. Glad your vacation went well. Can’t wait to see you. LOVE YOU.

Leave a Reply

