Have Pride in Yourself

Em returned for her second year of preschool yesterday.  We went to their open house last weekend, and they have a cool new mural of two giraffes on the wall and some new preschool-sized chairs that are painted like giraffes, elephants, lions, etc.  They’ve really done a lot with the place.

Anyway, yesterday evening when I got home, Emma came running to meet me at the door.

“Daddy, daddy, guess what I did today!?!?!”

“What did you do?”

“I GOT TO HOLD THE FLAG!”

Now I’m not exactly sure what that means, but I assume someone gets to hold the flag while they say the Pledge of Allegiance or something???

“That’s great,” I said.  “I’m so proud of you.”

“I’m so proud of MYSELF,” she responded.

Last year we had a little angst at the whole idea of preschool.  She was excited, but (at first) didn’t really want to stay without her mommy or daddy there.  There’s none of that this year.  When I dropped her off, she gave me a big hug and kiss and said, “Bye” and ran off to play.  She’s so excited.  “I got to hold the flag, and I got to sit in a chair that looks like an elephant, and maybe Miss Teresa will let me hold the flag again tomorrow, and…”

I can’t wait to hear about today’s adventures.  I sure hope she didn’t wrestle some poor kid for the flag…

Posted on August 14, 2007, in Emma. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awww…that is awesome. I love hearing about the preschool adventures. It is so great to sit back and watch them grow, huh?

Leave a Reply

