Coming Out of the Dark

I got tired of posting these under “family fun,” so I finally made a category called “illness.”  The family fun thing was cute…once, maybe even twice…but that ship has sailed.

I think we’ve made it to the other side of this one.  I’m back at work for the first and only time this week, Ethan’s having dairy for the first time in 6 days, and Emma has finally stopped asking “Are you going to throw up?” each time someone pauses during their sentence (or–God forbid–burps).  My parents were actually able to visit Ben and Paulie last night without fear of infecting them, and my mother-in-law is thinking she will be able to take the kids again on Monday so Ash can go back to work.  Today was just too soon.

Now, how we’ll get through Halloween…I have no idea.  The neighborhood party is Saturday night, and we don’t have a costume for either kid.  I guess that will be a Saturday morning thing.  Emma has declared that she will be “Princess Emma” for Halloween this year.

Ash:  “Oh, so you can wear your Sleeping Beauty dress!”

Em:  “No, I don’t want to be Sleeping Beauty.  I want to be Princess Emma.”

Ash:  “I know, honey, but you can wear your pink princess dress and be Princess Emma.”

Em:  With a look that can only be descriped as–‘DUH.’  “Um, no.  I want to be Princess Emma and wear a new princess dress that is not for Sleeping Beauty or Belle or any other princess.  And I don’t want a crown.  I want a pointy hat.”

It was so much easier when we got to dress her in whatever we wanted, and I got to eat all the candy.  That didn’t last long.

Posted on October 26, 2007, in Emma, Ethan, Illness. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m glad you are feeling better. It does not sound like it’s been a fun week for you guys.

Leave a Reply

