New Year’s Eve 2007

Yes, it’s January 2nd and I’m still on a high from our New Year’s Eve party, so I thought I’d blog about it.  In case, by some miracle, someone out there is still reading…since it doesn’t get updated very often!

We try to do something every year for New Year’s Eve.  It’s a holiday that I have always loved.  When I was a kid, we used to go to the grandparents’ house and stay up and watch the ball drop with Grandma and Papa while Mom and Dad went somewhere with my aunts and uncles.  That’s my biggest New Year’s Eve memory, anyway.  We may have only done that twice…

In my adulthood, I’ve hosted a few NYE parties and attended a few.  As a parent, the logistics of NYE has been more difficult.  It has required taking the kids to the grandparents’ house and then hosting or going to a friends’ house.  If we hosted, then the friends had to get a sitter, and so on.

This year, I had an idea.  Why not host a New Year’s Eve sleepover with some of our best friends who are parents?  The friends thought it was a good idea, too.  Something low-key…dinner, games, kids, snacks, etc.  What a blast…with no stress over what to do with the kids…and being able to enjoy much of the evening with our kids.

Our friends Matt and Tresine (thanks for the pictures), their kids Isabelle and Eloise, and our friends Nathan and Audrey, and their kids Avery and Moira, came over and we had lasagna…

Lasagna

The kids played…

Isabelle, Avery and Emma

And the adults played (Nathan and Audrey brought their new Nintendo Wii)…

Wii
Wii

I think we’ve decided to make it an annual thing.

Matt, Tresine, Isabelle, Eloise, Nathan, Audrey, Avery, and Moira — It was a pleasure to start 2008 with you. I look forward to knowing you for many years to come. Thank you for a great New Year’s Eve 2007.

Posted on January 2, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Im glad you had such a good time on New Years Eve. So how was your Christmas??

  2. I still read…

    🙂

  3. Fun! Fun! Fun!
    Such a great “family” New Year’s Eve!

    I have you in my bloglines so it comes up IF and WHEN you post! 🙂 Happy 2008!!

Leave a Reply

