None of Your Business

Last night we went to the local Chinese buffet for dinner.  It’s not my favorite, but Ash was really craving Chinese food, and I’m a good husband…

Anyway, Emma was in rare form and was stopping every waitress who passed to tell them something, and they were all very attentive and enjoyed talking to her.  Toward the end of the meal, she decided that she needed to use the restroom.  When she and Ash arrived in the ladies’ room and entered the stall, Emma noticed some cleaning supplies on the floor next to the toilet.

100855_front200.jpgEm:  What’s that?

Ash:  A toilet brush, honey.  Come on, let’s get going, so we can finish eating.

Em:  What’s it for?

Ash:  They use it to clean the toilet.

Em:  Who uses it?

Ash:  One of the people who work here.

Em:  Which one?

Ash:  I don’t know, honey.

Em:  Is it a boy or a girl?

Ash:  I don’t know…

At this point, Ash had a flash-forward moment and realized that Emma was going to leave the restroom and ask every person she saw if they are the one who cleans the toilet at the Asian Royal Buffet.

Ash:  …and you are not going to go out there and ask anyone.

Em:  You always tell me not to ask questions.  Why not?

Ash:  Because, honey, it’s none of your business.

Em:  You always say that.  What does it mean?

Ash:  It means that sometimes you don’t need to know things unless you are part of what’s going on.

Em:  Okay, so…I’m going potty now, right?

Ash:  Right.

Em:  And that’s my business.

Ash:  That’s right.

There was a pause while she contemplated.

Em:  I like my business.

A few minutes later they arrived back at the table.

Em:  Daddy, I love my business.

I looked at Ash, puzzled.

Ash:  Don’t ask.

Posted on March 17, 2008, in Emma. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. OMG, I love kid stories! That’s great.

  2. You should submit some of these stories to parents.com to publish in thier magazine.

Leave a Reply

