Let me tell you about my week…

I think it will make me feel better.

  1. At the end of last week, Ash’s mom finally caught the flu from Ethan.  The only difference is, she hadn’t had a flu shot like he had, so hers is MUCH worse.  She’s out of commission for this whole week, so we have no childcare.  Ash and Emma are sucking down the Airborne to try to keep from getting it.  So far it has worked.  I got a flu shot this year, so I’m crossing my fingers.
  2. Ash is co-directing Urinetown at Henry Clay High School in Lexington and, of course, it opens this weekend.  So this, as we so affectionately call it, is “hell week.”

So…

Sunday:
Ash spends all day at work for “tech weekend.”  Finalizing lighting, set decoration, sound cues, dress rehearsal, etc.  I’m home with the kids.  Ethan is still sick.

Monday:
Ash uses her last sick day to stay home with the kids.  At 3:00pm, she heads to Lexington for rehearsal.  At 5:30, I head for Lexington to pick up the kids from rehearsal.  Since Ethan is still sick, he hasn’t let her get any work done, and screams if anyone looks at him funny.  When I arrive, Emma joins him in a screaming fit because she is having fun at Mommy’s work and doesn’t want to leave.  I take them home, feed them dinner, and put them to bed.

Tuesday:
Ash takes a day without pay to stay home with the kids.  At 4:15pm, she heads to Lexington for rehearsal.  At 5:15pm, I head to Lexington to pick up the kids from rehearsal.  Ethan has been better this time, but when I arrive, both kids start screaming because they’re having fun at Mommy’s work and don’t want to leave.  I take them home, feed them dinner, put them to bed, and frantically start cleaning the house for the sitter we will have on Wednesday.

Wednesday:
I leave for work at 5:30am so I can be done by 3:30pm to get home and relieve the sitter who will cost us $100 for the day.  Ash will leave work in time to get to the Wednesday night church service because she sings with the worship team.  I will feed the kids and put them to bed.

Thursday:
I have no idea what Thursday will be like.  We don’t have a sitter yet…and neither of us can miss work.  I do know that it’s opening night of Urinetown, so Ash will be very late getting home, so I’ll feed the kids and put them to bed.

Friday:
We have a sitter, but she has to be at work in Lexington by 4:30pm, so I might as well just go back to work Thursday night after Ash gets home from the performance of Urinetown (around 11:30pm).  I’ll feed the kids and put them to bed.

Is it Derby Day yet?

Posted on April 30, 2008, in Emma, Ethan, Performing Arts. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh Good Lord – you poor things. I hope that you find someone for tomorrow…and you make it through Hell week…that sounds dismal!

  2. Oy! If I was closer I’d babysit for you (and I wouldn’t charge you $100 either!)

  3. OMG, what a week you’re having. I do remember those weeks…just keep remembering it will be over soon 🙂

  4. Hopefully the rest of you don’t get sick. The next time you spend $100 a day for childcare, let me know. I would love to spend time with my neice and nephew, and get paid for it! Just kidding. (sort of)

Leave a Reply

