Wii Fit Wednesday

Okay, I’m bad about sticking with themes, so I’m not sure this will actually be a Wednesday thing for me, but I’m considering it…

After the kids went to bed last night, Ash and I broke out our new Wii Fit.  I was skeptical, but it was the most inexpensive piece of exercise equipment we have ever purchased, and I read a pretty glowing review online before I bought it.

I must say, I was impressed.  We each started by having the board test our balance and compute our Body Mass Index (BMI).  I am at the upper end of normal for BMI, but I must have poor balance because when it ultimately computed my “Wii Fit Age,” it said I was 44.  Since I’m actually 35, I was slightly offended, but it encouraged me to get started.  Since my BMI is in the normal range, it suggested I make my goal to be in the middle of the normal range, or “ideal.”  That says I need to lose 15.6 pounds.  I set a goal to do that in a certain amount of time (I think 2 months), and started the routines.

I won’t go into all the exercises I did, but I really enjoyed it.  It is the first piece of exercise equipment that we’ve had that I thought gave me some feedback to tell me I was doing the exercise correctly.  It constantly shows you how close you are to having your weight balanced as you do the exercises, and then gives you points on how balanced you stayed during each exercise.

We also played some games (soccer, slalom skiing, hoola-hoops, etc.), which were quite fun.

I wouldn’t say I’m sore today, but I definitely feel it.  And I was certainly feeling it last night.

The Wii Fit gets an A+ in my book.  Someone finally succeeded in making exercise fun.  I hope it stays fun and we keep doing it!


DISCLAIMER:  The Wii Fit is not for everyone.  My friend Carrie who does triathlons (yeah, I know, right?) is probably going to think it’s a silly little toy.  But for those of us who don’t exercise without a gun put to our head, I think it will be a welcome addition to the family.

Posted on May 28, 2008, in Exercise, Family Fun. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have seriously been considering getting Wii just so I could do the Wii Fit stuff, I’m so glad to read your review. By the time I buy the Wii and then the Wii fit I’ll have a pretty good chunk of change to spend BUT I need something to motivate me to have a fun exercise at home. Hmmmmm……I might have Steve’s first check spent before he even gets it! Thanks!

  2. Oh no, my friend! I LOVE the Wii Fit! We just got it and we are all hooked already! It is a great way to work on balance and strength…I almost brought it to Michigan with me!

  3. It seems that everywhere I turn I’m hearing good things about WiiFit…I can’t wait to try it your myself! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

