A Decade Behind Us

June 27, 1998…exactly 10 years ago…Ashley and I began a journey that has been the most exciting and wonderful time in my life. I was 25 years old when we stood before God, and her father put her hand in mine. I knew nothing of what was in store for me, except that I was completely and totally enamored with this woman who stood next to me.

Today, our 10th Anniversary, life is as much the same as it is different. She still stands next to me, my partner in this fantastic adventure, whom I am even more in love with than I was on that day. And I still know nothing of what is in store for me. We have made a wonderful home together, complete with two beautiful children. Our inner circle of friends has grown and changed over the last 10 years to include some very special people. We have enjoyed the addition of two sisters-in-law and a nephew, and suffered through the loss of three very special grandparents.

A decade seemed like an eternity on that day, and yet it seems to have gone by in the blink of an eye. In another decade, our sweet Emma will be 14 and little Ethan, 12. We will each see 40 come and go. How different things will be then!

I’m anxious to experience the future and see what it holds for us, and yet, I want time to stop so I can savor every moment.

On our wedding day, a good friend quoted Bessie Anderson Stanley, telling us to “live well, laugh often, and love much.” We have. And we will.

Thank you for 10 wonderful, blessed years, honey. Here’s to decades more.

I love you.

Posted on June 27, 2008, in Marriage. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Awww…that is awesome, Matthew! Happy Anniversary to you both – I wish you many, many more decades together!

  2. Happy Anniversary! What a sweet post!

  3. Happy Anniversary! Its exciting to think of the many decades to come as a family. We love you all so much!

  4. That was beautiful! Happy (belated) anniversary!

  5. Congrats…that’s an accomplishment these days. Seems like all my friends are divorced now or on marriage #2. Hopefully we are starting a new trend…Dan & I will have #14 this year.

Leave a Reply

