Big Boy – Step #1

Ethan and Emma spent last week visiting their grandparents in Michigan.  We were planning to move Ethan out of his crib this summer, but since he was showing no signs of climbing out and getting hurt, we decided to wait until he got back from Michigan.  We figured it would be easier for my parents if he was still in his crib while he was there.

We went up to Michigan to pick them up and spend the weekend.  We got to see my Uncle Mike (Dad’s brother) and Aunt Sue from Maryland, my Grandma Lois and Grandpa Walt (Dad’s parents), my Uncle Bill and Aunt Lori (Mom’s sister), and of course Ben, Paulie, Mason, Mom, and Dad.  It was a great weekend.

When we arrived home Sunday evening, I took down the crib, and we got the toddler bed out of the basement.  Don’t ask my why we didn’t do this during our week without the kids instead of waiting until the end of a long day in the car.  I guess it was because we were concentrating on having fun last week!

Anyway, we’ve just gotten through night three with the toddler bed, and Ethan is doing very well.  He protests a little more at bedtime, but I think it’s just because he can (since he’s not locked in a cage and can get up and open his door).  He was really excited about the new bed, and sleeps through the night just fine.

So, I guess he’s completed Step #1.

Stay tuned for Step #2: Potty Training.  (So exciting…I know.)

Posted on July 23, 2008, in Ethan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It is very exciting!

  2. Congrats to the big boy! Sounds like he’s done very well with it – better than a certain little girl I know…. ;o)

  3. Woohoo! Good job, Ethan! “Liking” the bed is more than half the battle…the rest will work itself out.

    I saw that you read today’s Chaos post – remember it before venturing into serious potty training, so you don’t get too frustrated! I think the more you insist, the more they resist! 🙂 Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

