A “Blue” Christmas

I started putting our tree up Monday night and got really mad about the lights being crappy (single bulbs out, entire strings not working, etc.), so I went to Wal-Mart in the town I work in yesterday and bought them out of “cool white” LED lights (7 boxes of 60).  I didn’t figure that was even close to enough for our 9-foot tree, so I went to Wal-Mart in another town on the way home and bought all they had as well (another 10 boxes of 60).  They’re really expensive, but they’re better for the environment, electricity bill, last longer, etc.  So I talked myself into it, and Ashley was really excited that we were doing something positive for the environment, etc.

I also have this thing about colored lights.  I just don’t like them and have to have white lights.

So I started putting them on the tree last night, and they were VERY bright…and looked a little blue, but Ash said they were just different because they were white instead of clear and we would get used to it.  Emma and Ethan were playing on the computer in the den and didn’t see what I was doing or hear our conversation.

I was about 1/4 of the way done when Ash said it was time for baths and the kids started up the stairs.

“Oooooh, Daddy, the tree is going to be so colorful!  I love the blue lights!” Emma said with GREAT excitement.

Ash looked at me and smiled.  “They’re not blue, honey,” she said.  “They’re white.  They’re just different from what we had before.”

“They look blue to me,” said Emma, and she went upstairs.

The kids got their baths, went to bed, and I continued lighting the tree.  I got it all done and Ash and I talked about it and decided we would get used to the new color of white and that it looked nice.

This morning, Emma came to the top of the stairs.

“Daddy, I love the tree.  You did such a great job!  It’s so beautiful!”

“I’m glad you like it, honey,” I said.

“See, Mom?  I told you they were blue.”

Ugh.

Posted on December 10, 2008, in Emma, Holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I want to see pics

  2. I had just read that there were those kind of lights but I haven’t looked into buying them (sorry, I’d get the colored ones). Since they are so bright did you put them all on the tree? Can you return some? I’m sure they look nice but I do want to see pictures.

Leave a Reply

